The Oath

Trust is the foundation of my profession.

I will serve all interests in good faith.
I will compete with honour.
I will pursue my ends with ethical restraint.
I will help create a sustainable future.
I will help create a more just society.
I will speak out against wrongdoing and support others who do the same.
I will accept responsibility for my actions.

In these and all other matters;
My word is my bond.

The Vision

A banking and finance industry that
meets the community’s needs and has its full confidence thereby fulfilling its integral role in society.

Like Minded Lunch

The Board and Policy Council of the Banking and Finance Oath, comprised of recognised industry leaders, appreciate the importance of providing development opportunities, support and encouragement for the future leaders of the industry.

The Like-minded Lunch Series is a formal lunch, hosted by a board or policy council member. Individuals from the industry at the manager level that have been recognised for their leadership, ethics and good decision-making are invited to attend the lunch at the request of the board, CEO or a senior executive from their organisation.

The format of a Like-minded Lunch involves an introduction by the host, including an overview of their career path, noting the ethical challenges and triumphs. Each lunch has a special guest from another industry that has demonstrated ethical leadership.

The Like-minded Lunch provides an opportunity for future leaders to meet like-minded individuals and form friendships and networks to support them as they progress in their career.

The lunches are exclusive events, by invitation only, held four times per year. Like-minded Lunch comprises a collection of individuals from up to 10 organisations with a maximum of 20 seats per lunch.


Special guests to be announced.

Dr Bronwyn King joined The BFO Like-Minded Lunch on 9 April 2015

General David Morrison joins BFO Like-Minded Lunch on 2 September 2015

Professor Gillian Triggs joins The BFO Like-Minded Lunch on 26 July 2016